wheunique.blogg.se

Plex for mac desktop
Plex for mac desktop













plex for mac desktop

I then proceeded to install this by going to the Package Center app and selecting Manual Install and selecting the file I just downloaded. Install Plex Media Server on your NASĪs I have a DS918+, thus an Intel based NAS, I wanted to make sure that I can take full advantage of hardware transcoding, so I downloaded the Intel 64bit PlexPass version from the Plex website. Prepare your Synology NASįirst, we need to get Plex up and running on your Synology NAS.

plex for mac desktop

Luckily, I came across a great post by Mo_Gas on the Plex forums, making this process quite painless. Given this would be the first time moving Plex from Mac to Linux, instead of Mac to Mac, the migration would require a bit more work. With nearly a decade worth of watch history and friends who are using the server on the regular, it was key to not loose any of the history and libraries. With it's SSD starting to fail, the time has come to retire it and move my Plex server to my new Synology DS918+, with an upgraded 8GB of RAM. We implore you to check out how far our apps and the various excellent streaming devices have come - it’s truly night-and-day since you unboxed your first potato-powered Roku or Apple TV.Ĭheck out more details on the new desktop app and changes coming to Plex Media Player here.It's been over 7 years that I've been running my Plex server off my trusty old 2011 Mac Mini. They have remotes that work wonderfully out of the box (no more fiddly custom key mappings!) In short, they’re designed for the environment in which you’re using them, and it shows. They don’t need to sleep (much), they use a tiny amount of electricity (Al Gore made us say that) and they don’t require nearly as much effort to get up and running. And of course modern streaming devices don’t need as much care and feeding as desktop computers. Our new Apple TV and Android players support nearly all the same formats. Plex encourages users to check out its Apple TV player moving forward as an HTPC alternative. At the same time, we recognize there are some exceptions, so we will keep updating Plex Media Player until (you can find the downloads here).















Plex for mac desktop